Search

Top 10 Global & Australian Twitter Users // April 2016

Michael Brown // 08th May 2016

April proved to be an exciting month for Twitter with Ellen dancing her way past Miss Gaga to claim spot number 7, while Justin Timberlake clipped the big bird’s wings a little more and pushed Twitter down a peg to number 10, making himself comfortable at number 9 with a 100,000 user lead.

The President of the United States made sure the spotlight was on him at the end of April though, creating a social media storm with two words and a mic drop. He may be leaving the White House pretty soon, but ‘Obama Out’ has certainly helped fortify his position as a Leader Of The Free [microblogging] World for the foreseeable future at least. Down Under a tax drop by our Prime Minister would probably suffice, but a mic drop every now and then wouldn’t go astray either – but we digress.

April will be a tough one to beat, but we look forward to seeing how our Top 10 favourites fare during May! SMPerth out~!

Take a look at the stats of our Top 10 Global Twitter users for April 2016:

1. Katy Perry (@katyperry, 87,839,724)
2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber, 80,655,711)
3. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13, 76,430,633)
4. Barack Obama (@barackobama, 74,155,442)
5. YouTube (@YouTube, 61,685,939)
6. Rihanna (@rihanna, 60,004,930)
7. Ellen DeGeneres (@TheEllenShow, 58,864,304)
8. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga, 58,765,533)
9. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake, 54,646,216)
10. Twitter (@twitter, 54,548,316)

(Source: TwitterCounter)

As usual things are moving a little slower Down Under, so we weren’t too surprised to see Calum Hood still at number 5, even as he creeps to around 10,000 users away from Wolverine aka Hugh Jackman. Some would call that pretty much slashing distance, but we will have to wait and see how the latest X Men film affects Hugh’s numbers. If Calum has a shot at joining his bandmate in the Top 4 though, it appears May will be it. In the meantime here is the final post from April 2016 by Calum and his mates, also known as 5SOS…also known as Aussie Twitter’s number One.

Take a look at the stats of our Top 10 Australian Twitter users for April 2016:

1. 5 Seconds of Summer (@5SOS, 8,782,543)
2. Cody Simpson (@CodySimpson, 7,748,635)
3. Luke Hemmings (@Luke5SOS, 7,129,338)
4. Hugh Jackman (@RealHughJackman, 6,379,350)
5. Calum Hood (@Calum5SOS, 6,366,543)
6. Michael Clifford (@Michael5SOS, 6,193,079)
7. Ashton Irwin (@Ashton5SOS, 5,008,167)
8. Miranda Kerr (@MirandaKerr, 4,551,265)
9. Kyrie Irving (@KyrieIrving, 2,773,574)
10. Shane Warne (@ShaneWarne, 2,694,491)

(Source: TwitterCounter)

The following two tabs change content below.

Michael Brown

Michael feels privileged to be part of the #SMPerth community as its first intern.

Latest posts by Michael Brown (see all)

LEAVE A COMMENT

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *