Search

Top 10 Global & Australian Twitter Users March 2016

Michael Brown // 04th April 2016

Can you believe Twitter turned 10 years old in March? Happy Birthday, little bird! Ellen may sit at number 8 on the Global Top 10, but did you know she still holds the title for the most retweeted post, ever? That was back in 2014, but even earlier Mr Obama captivated the Twitterverse with just three words and a picture, and survives to this day as the platform’s second most retweeted post since its inception in 2012. In the absence of much change on the chart this month, cheers to another 10 years!

ellentweet

Take a look at the stats of our Top 10 Global Twitter users for March 2016:

1. Katy Perry (@katyperry, 85,508,086)
2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber, 78,196,275)
3. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13, 73,981,104)
4. Barack Obama (@barackobama, 72,050,580)
5. YouTube (@YouTube, 60,979,119)
6. Rihanna (@rihanna, 58,049,076)
7. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga, 57,770,622)
8. Ellen DeGeneres (@TheEllenShow, 54,921,473)
9. Twitter (@twitter, 53,975,678)
10. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake, 53,207,840)

(Source: TwitterCounter)

obamatweet

In the midst of the bird’s Birthday celebrations the battle down under between Hugh and Calum raged on. Wolverine did manage to expand the follower gap by a slight margin, though, to a mere 21,023  –  a number that could easily be smashed with the release of a new album or movie, or maybe even just a viral tweet…but we are hoping for the former! In the meantime we will also be keeping an eye on Miranda down at #8, who looks like she could be moving to shake up 5SOS’s grip on the Aussie chart pretty soon, too. Bring on April!

Take a look at the stats of our Top 10 Australian Twitter users for March 2016:

1. 5 Seconds of Summer (@5SOS, 8,675,145)
2. Cody Simpson (@CodySimpson, 7,738,443)
3. Luke Hemmings (@Luke5SOS, 7,070,945)
4. Hugh Jackman (@RealHughJackman, 6,335,832)
5. Calum Hood (@Calum5SOS, 6,314,809)
6. Michael Clifford (@Michael5SOS, 6,135,134)
7. Ashton Irwin (@Ashton5SOS, 4,945,393)
8. Miranda Kerr (@MirandaKerr, 4,485,312)
9. Kyrie Irving (@KyrieIrving, 2,734,012)
10. Shane Warne (@ShaneWarne, 2,639,965)

(Source: TwitterCounter)

The following two tabs change content below.

Michael Brown

Michael feels privileged to be part of the #SMPerth community as its first intern.

Latest posts by Michael Brown (see all)

LEAVE A COMMENT

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *