Search

Top 10 Global & Australian Twitter Users // March 2017

SMPerth // 09th April 2017

Warney bowled out by pop idol!

The legendary ex-cricketer has dropped out of the Aussie top 10 to 11th position (not quite the 12th man!) and Peter Andre sneaks in the door.

More about the Aussie battle soon, first of all, let’s take a look at the global Twitter profiles for March.

Katy Perry still has a comfortable hold on the lead, though she only gained 600k followers during March. Beiber-fever looks to be slowing down too with 3rd place Obama’s twitter profile continuing to grow and grow – over 1.25 million followers during the month of March!!

Omaba may no longer be President but that doesn’t mean the world doesn’t love him. And who wouldn’t respect the man that gave such a heartfelt tribute on the passing of Chuck Berry;

Obama's tribute to Chuck Berry on twitter

Speaking of followers, Lady Gaga where are your fans?!? This month her Twitter profile gained just over 330k new followers, the lowest of the top 10 profiles. Hopefully headlining at #Coachella later in April will see her fans flooding in!

Here are the Top 10 Global Twitter users for March 2017:

1. Katy Perry (@katyperry 96, 728, 916)
2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber 92, 801, 843) 
3. Barack Obama (@barackobama 86, 438, 742) 
4. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13 84, 139, 411) 
5. Rihanna (@rihanna 70, 691, 608)
6. YouTube (@YouTube 67, 494, 480) 
7. Ellen DeGeneres (@TheEllenShow 66, 475, 620) 
8. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga 65, 756, 417) 
9. Twitter (@twitter 60, 526, 660) 
10. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake 58, 542, 764) 

(Source: TwitterCounter, SocialBakers, Twitter)

 

The beginning few months of 2017 have been quiet for the Aussie profiles but this month we’ve had some movement in the ranks, including a new-comer.

As we mentioned at the beginning, Shane Warne has been bowled out of the top 10, only to be replaced by fellow-Aussie-expat-living-in-the-UK, Peter Andre. The pop idol’s topical and honest tweets about his battle with anxiety have hit an emotional chord, sparking interest in the community and raising his Twitter profile.

At number 11 the somewhat controversial at times but lovable larrikin surely won’t be far away from our hearts or twitter feeds;

Shane Warne tweet

Even more impressive is the rapid growth of Hugh Jackman’s account, last month it was 205k new followers, this month it was 403k! This huge increase tips him into the 8 million follower club and has seen him jump two positions on the ladder to take out number 3.

Will we see the boy band members bow down to Wolverine in coming months? Only time will tell…

For now, here are the Top 10 Australian Twitter users for March 2017:

1. 5 Seconds of Summer (@5SOS 10, 785, 589) 
2. Luke Hemmings (@Luke5SOS 8, 355, 996) 
3. Hugh Jackman (@RealHughJackman 8, 011, 362)
4. Cody Simpson (@CodySimpson 7, 801, 112) 
5. Michael Clifford (@Michael5SOS 7, 758, 536) 
6. Calum Hood (@Calum5SOS 7, 222, 658) 
7. Ashton Irwin (@Ashton5SOS 6, 288, 312) 
8. Miranda Kerr (@MirandaKerr 5, 263, 808) 
9. Peter Andre (@MrPeterAndre 3, 521, 181)
10. Kyrie Irving (@KyrieIrving 3, 301, 753)

(Source: TwitterCounter, SocialBakers, Twitter)

 

 

LEAVE A COMMENT

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *