Search

Top 10 Global and Australian Twitter Users // January 2018

Katrina Rischbieth // 02nd February 2018
Shares

A new year and a new number one.

January is now over and the stats are in!

The first month of 2018 has brought a few changes to our Twitter top 10’s, including a new number one. It’s ok, Katy is still the Queen of Twitter, the new number one is in the Aussie top 10.

But, the global top 10 did have a shuffle in positions with Rihanna moving up to number 4 and Talyor dropped down to 5th. Bye-bye Taylor.

It’s not all about makeup and singing for Rihanna either, guess that’s why she is liked by so many people across the world.

 

Rihanna's tweet about education

The fastest growing profile in January was President Trump (in 20th position) followed by Ronaldo and Obama, all with over 1 million new followers for the month. If February is a repeat we should see Obama reach 100 million followers.

The Top 10 Global Twitter users for January 2018:

1. Katy Perry (@katyperry ) 108, 321, 947
2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber ) 105, 193, 261
3. Barack Obama (@barackobama ) 99, 592, 761
4. Rihanna (@rihanna ) 86, 013, 563
5. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13 ) 85, 669, 978
6. Ellen DeGeneres (@TheEllenShow) 76, 732, 376
7. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga) 76, 587, 008
8.YouTube (@YouTube) 71, 060, 517
9. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano)  68, 683, 397
10. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake) 65, 047, 123

(Source: TwitterCounter, SocialBakers, Twitter)

 

We have a new number one in the Aussie top 10, the 5SOS band boys have been knocked off their perch and dropped down to second spot. And if you haven’t already guessed (or taken a sneak peek) it is none other than Hugh Jackman!!

Jackman had one of the fastest growing Aussie profiles and an increase of 176k followers in January, taking him to over 12 million followers.

The remainder of the top 10 stayed the same, one of the fastest growing profiles was Michael from 5SOS. He now has over 10million followers and is nudging closer to his bandmate Luke in 3rd position.

Kyrie Irving, who is down in 9th position also had a big increase in followers, averaging 1.8k each day.

What will February bring? For now, let’s take a look at the January stats.

The Top 10 Australian Twitter users for January 2018:

1. Hugh Jackman (@RealHughJackman) 12, 128, 031
2. 5 Seconds of Summer (@5SOS ) 11, 996, 684
3. Luke Hemmings (@Luke5SOS) 10, 524, 034
4. Michael Clifford (@Michael5SOS) 10, 066, 613
5. Cody Simpson (@CodySimpson) 8, 025, 965
6. Calum Hood (@Calum5SOS) 7, 310, 918
7. Ashton Irwin (@Ashton5SOS) 6, 388, 028
8. Miranda Kerr (@MirandaKerr) 5, 571, 442           
9. Kyrie Irving (@KyrieIrving) 3, 951, 087
10. Sia (@Sia) 3, 742, 736

(Source: TwitterCounter, SocialBakers, Twitter)
The following two tabs change content below.

LEAVE A COMMENT

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *