Search

Top 10 Global and Australian Twitter Users // February 2018

Katrina Rischbieth // 02nd March 2018
Shares

On the move in February!

The first two months of 2018 have shaken things up a bit for our Twitter top 10s.

After dropping down a spot last month, this month Taylor Swift lost around 70k followers. She still maintains 5th, and there’s a big difference in followers numbers between her and 6th so she might be lucky and hold on for a bit longer.

Speaking of 6th, the ever-popular Ellen DeGeneres has been bumped down a spot to make way for Lady Gaga who now reigns 6th position.

Ronaldo had an increase of 1.3 million new followers in February, and it was a short month too!

But let’s just take a moment to reflect on ex-President Obama. His tweets can sometimes be few and far between, but his words are heartfelt and often powerful. They strike a chord with so many people, from so many different walks of life, even the haters.

obama tweet

That is why it is no surprise he has reached 100 million followers. The only question left is, how long before he reaches number one?

The Top 10 Global Twitter users for February 2018:

1. Katy Perry (@katyperry ) 108, 688, 279
2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber ) 105, 461, 934
3. Barack Obama (@barackobama ) 100, 456, 524
4. Rihanna (@rihanna ) 86, 336, 292
5. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13 ) 85, 603, 784
6. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga) 77, 311, 507
7. Ellen DeGeneres (@TheEllenShow) 76, 980, 887
8. YouTube (@YouTube) 71, 178, 261
9. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) 69, 966, 176     68, 683, 397
10. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake) 65, 336, 070

(Source: TwitterCounterTwitter)

 

The Aussie top 10 have all maintained their positions in February. Unlike the global top 10 there were no big changes, though Cody Simpson did lose about 10.5k followers.

It was interesting to note that all the 5SOS band members no have the same branded avatar, possibly to align with their current tour but who knows?

Our old mates Peter Andre and Shane Warne are lurking just outside the top 10 at number 11 and 12 respectively. Though they’re a good 300k behind Sia.

Now for the stats…

The Top 10 Australian Twitter users for February 2018:

1. Hugh Jackman (@RealHughJackman) 12, 285, 193
2. 5 Seconds of Summer (@5SOS ) 12, 135, 549
3. Luke Hemmings (@Luke5SOS) 10, 586, 072
4. Michael Clifford (@Michael5SOS) 10, 223, 407
5. Cody Simpson (@CodySimpson) 8, 015, 378
6. Calum Hood (@Calum5SOS) 7, 325, 903
7. Ashton Irwin (@Ashton5SOS) 6, 392, 707
8. Miranda Kerr (@MirandaKerr) 5, 586, 529          
9. Kyrie Irving (@KyrieIrving) 4, 006, 767
10. Sia (@Sia) 3, 778, 257

(Source: TwitterCounter, Twitter)
The following two tabs change content below.

LEAVE A COMMENT

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *