Search

Top 10 Global and Australian Twitter Users // October 2017

Katrina Rischbieth // 01st November 2017
Shares

A fresh face joins the global top 10!

Twitter has been bumped out of the top 10 profiles by none other than Ronaldo!

Portuguese footballer Cristiano Ronaldo had the fastest growing Twitter profile during October. Averaging 73k  followers per day he gained over 2.1 million new followers! The increase has seen him move into 10th position, bumping Twitter’s profile out of the top ten.

This was the only change to the top 10, all other users held on to their positions. But, there was a surge of followers for a few of the top Twitter users – Rihanna and Lady Gaga both featured in the top 5 fastest growing profiles, at 2nd and 4th position respectively. Trump was 3rd, and Bruno Mars had the 5th fastest growing Twitter profile.

But unfortunately, there can only be one winner.

 

Ronaldo kissing award

 

The Top 10 Global Twitter users for October 2017:

1. Katy Perry (@katyperry ) 105, 668, 120
2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber ) 102, 690, 827
3. Barack Obama (@barackobama ) 96, 434, 267
4. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13 ) 85, 604, 006
5. Rihanna (@rihanna ) 81, 229, 179
6. Ellen DeGeneres (@TheEllenShow) 74, 951, 381
7. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga) 72, 799, 272
8. YouTube (@YouTube) 70, 269, 133
9. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake) 62 947, 673
10. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) 62, 640, 099

(Source: TwitterCounter, SocialBakers, Twitter)

 

How about the Aussies?

There were no changes in positions of the top 10 Aussie Twitter profiles during October but all accounts had a healthy number of new followers.

For this month 5 Seconds of Summer still reigns number one. Back from their tour of America things have slowed a little for the band in terms of follower growth. They didn’t gain nearly as many followers as last month but they still managed to have one of the fastest growing profiles.

Hugh Jackman had the number one fastest growing Australian profile, averaging 15k new followers per day and seeing him slowly approach 11 million followers. Could we see him move into the top position?

5SOS band member Luke Hemmings is also nearing the 10 million mark, but it could be a couple of months away yet.

Luke Hemming tweet

 

The Top 10 Australian Twitter users for October 2017:

1. 5 Seconds of Summer (@5SOS ) 11, 725, 669    
2. Hugh Jackman (@RealHughJackman) 10, 847, 571    
3. Luke Hemmings (@Luke5SOS) 9, 952, 385   
4. Michael Clifford (@Michael5SOS) 9, 166, 990   
5. Cody Simpson (@CodySimpson) 8, 026, 222 
6. Calum Hood (@Calum5SOS) 7, 301, 892
7. Ashton Irwin (@Ashton5SOS)  6, 381, 169 
8. Miranda Kerr (@MirandaKerr)  5, 521, 763   
9. Kyrie Irving (@KyrieIrving) 3, 768, 800   
10. Peter Andre (@MrPeterAndre) 3, 537, 441  

(Source: TwitterCounter, SocialBakers, Twitter)
The following two tabs change content below.

LEAVE A COMMENT

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *