Search

Top 10 Global & Australian Twitter Users // December 2016

Michael Brown // 02nd January 2017
Shares

The year has finally come to a close so it’s time to see which of our Top 10 Twitter stars takes the 2016 crown!

Sadly we missed out on a final Game of Thrones style showdown to wrap things up, with all of our contenders maintaining their positions in the final round. Regardless, it’s probably no surprise that Katy Perry used her commanding lead to maintain the status quo as Queen of the Twittersphere, and it also looks like she will be the first user to reach 100 million followers in the coming year. Bieber is hot on her heels though, even gaining followers at a faster rate than the Roar singer over the past month.

With Justin and Twitter holding their positions at the bottom of the chart, perhaps the next big showdown will be at the top? An honorary mention also goes to Obama this month for finally joining the 80 million club! Trump’s tweets have gotten a lot of attention in the press lately, but the incoming Prez still has some way to go if he is going to catch up to his predecessor in the online space.

Well that’s a wrap for 2016, folks! Will our Top 10 ring in the new year with some fireworks? We can’t wait to find out!

Take a look at the stats of our Top 10 Global Twitter users for December 2016:

1. Katy Perry (@katyperry, 95,027,483)
2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber, 90,832,736)
3. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13, 82,747,585)
4. Barack Obama (@barackobama, 80,329,509)
5. Rihanna (@rihanna, 68,790,424)
6. YouTube (@YouTube, 65,837,227)
7. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga, 64,820,743)
8. Ellen DeGeneres (@TheEllenShow, 64,318,795)
9. Twitter (@twitter, 57,935,916)
10. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake, 57,603,655)

(Source: TwitterCounter)

They say good things always come to an end, and unfortunately for Mr Hood his good thing came to an end sooner than most. Hugh Jackman added a little more Merry to his own Christmas by snatching back spot number 5 from Calum, who only managed to keep the spot warm for a couple of months.

Does Wolverine have his eyes on a bigger prize in 2017, or is settling beef with 1/4 of 5SOS enough to tide him over? We’re not quite sure, but we are loving the drama that the Aussie charts are bringing as of late! Can’t wait to see what 2017 brings us down under!

Without further ado, here’s our Top 10 Australian Twitter users for December 2016:

1. 5 Seconds of Summer (@5SOS, 10,473,819)
2. Luke Hemmings (@Luke5SOS, 8,153,187)
3. Cody Simpson (@CodySimpson, 7,793,491)
4. Michael Clifford (@Michael5SOS, 7,645,907)
5. Hugh Jackman (@RealHughJackman, 7,254,388)
6. Calum Hood (@Calum5SOS, 7,189,423)
7. Ashton Irwin (@Ashton5SOS, 6,149,090)
8. Miranda Kerr (@MirandaKerr, 5,103,498)
9. Kyrie Irving (@KyrieIrving, 3,174,595)
10. Shane Warne (@ShaneWarne, 2,867,267)

(Source: TwitterCounter)

The following two tabs change content below.

Michael Brown

Michael feels privileged to be part of the #SMPerth community as its first intern.

Latest posts by Michael Brown (see all)

LEAVE A COMMENT

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *