Search

Top 10 Global & Australian Twitter Users // April 2017

Katrina Rischbieth // 04th May 2017
Shares

Where the heck is Taylor Swift? 

You couldn’t escape the star last year, she was on every magazine cover, all over social media, and now?…It seems she’s vanished in a puff of smoke. 

The star has taken a bit of a hiatus from the limelight and it’s having a detrimental effect on her social profiles. Taylor’s last Tweet was on the 29th of January and since then she’s been losing followers at a rapid rate. Although she still holds 4th position and has a good lead on Rihanna, this month her Twitter account lost 97k followers. Oh dear.

On the upside, ‘Where is Taylor Swift’ has been trending so it could be a perfectly executed publicity stunt!

tweet 'where is taylor swift?'

There wasn’t any movement in the top 10 this month, Perry, Bieber and Obama still have a strong hold on the top 3 positions. Once again Obama had the strongest growing profile of the top 10, gaining just under 900k new followers, though hot on his heels was Donald Trump.Sitting down at 42, Trump is still well out of the Top 10 but he had the fastest growing Twitter profile with 1.29million new followers during April.

Here are the Top 10 Global Twitter users for April 2017:

1. Katy Perry (@katyperry 97, 421, 382) 
2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber 93, 446, 068) 
3. Barack Obama (@barackobama 87, 336, 323) 
4. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13 84, 042, 164) 
5. Rihanna (@rihanna 71, 361, 880) 
6. YouTube (@YouTube 68, 139, 896) 
7. Ellen DeGeneres (@TheEllenShow 67, 221, 068) 
8. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga 66, 098, 272)
9. Twitter (@twitter 60, 715, 492) 
10. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake 58, 910, 989) 

(Source: TwitterCounter, SocialBakers, Twitter)

 

 

Now over to the Aussie Twitter profiles, here’s a quick recap of the month…

The Aussie’s have all held on to their positions in the top 10 this month. With over 10million followers the band profile 5 Seconds of Summer is still way out in front. Hugh Jackman had the fastest growing profile this month, almost raking in 200k new followers!

Last month’s newcomer Peter Andre is still going strong. The publicity around the star is growing, his charity work, the support for boxer Frank Bruno (@frankbrunoboxer) and popularity as a billboard model for advertisers plus he recently landed a film role so we may seem him move up the top 10 in coming months.

Peter Andre advert

For now, here are the Top 10 Australian Twitter users for April 2017:

1. 5 Seconds of Summer (@5SOS ) 10, 785, 589
2. Luke Hemmings (@Luke5SOS ) 8, 355, 996
3. Hugh Jackman (@RealHughJackman) 8, 011, 362
4. Cody Simpson (@CodySimpson) 7, 801, 112
5. Michael Clifford (@Michael5SOS ) 7, 758, 536
6. Calum Hood (@Calum5SOS) 7, 222, 658
7. Ashton Irwin (@Ashton5SOS ) 6, 288, 312
8. Miranda Kerr (@MirandaKerr ) 5, 263, 808
9. Peter Andre (@MrPeterAndre) 3, 521, 181
10. Kyrie Irving (@KyrieIrving) 3, 301, 753

(Source: TwitterCounter, SocialBakers, Twitter)

The following two tabs change content below.

Latest posts by Katrina Rischbieth (see all)

LEAVE A COMMENT

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *