Search

Top 10 Global & Australian Twitter Users // August 2016

Michael Brown // 09th September 2016
Shares

Following the drama of last month all of our Global Top 10 Twitter stars managed to maintain their positions in August.

Rihanna and Lady Gaga have fortified their leads over YouTube and Ellen respectively, adding over a million followers each to their war chests.

The same can’t be said for the Big Bird, though, as Twitter struggled to soar away from Justin Timberlake, with a mere 14,000 users currently separating the two. Perhaps the social network needs to take a page out of Flappy Bird’s book, because this game ain’t easy. The Sexy Back singer clearly isn’t going down without a fight. Or at least not without Crying a River. We can’t wait to see what September has in store!

Take a look at the stats of our Top 10 Global Twitter users for August 2016:

1. Katy Perry (@katyperry, 92,271,216)
2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber, 87,078,225)
3. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13, 80,729,420)
4. Barack Obama (@barackobama, 77,013,503)
5. Rihanna (@rihanna, 64,964,768)
6. YouTube (@YouTube, 63,763,112)
7. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga, 62,925,621)
8. Ellen DeGeneres (@TheEllenShow, 61,738,552)
9. Twitter (@twitter, 56,492,511)
10. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake, 56,478,509)

(Source: TwitterCounter)

No change of rank Down Under this month, but Calum Hood has managed to shake a wolverine off his tail for the time being. It’s not by much though, stretching his lead from 14,000 to 54,000 over Hugh Jackman to keep spot number 5. Meanwhile 5SOS look set to make a move on Cody Simpson’s place at number 2 next month, with Luke Hemmings narrowing the gap to only 108,000 followers. Given Luke added double that this month alone things aren’t looking good for Cody who only managed to add 3000. Sorry bud, be we know where we are placing our bets in September!

Take a look at the stats of our Top 10 Australian Twitter users for August 2016:

1. 5 Seconds of Summer (@5SOS, 9,596,744)
2. Cody Simpson (@CodySimpson, 7,776,712)
3. Luke Hemmings (@Luke5SOS, 7,668,545)
4. Michael Clifford (@Michael5SOS, 7,031,908)
5. Calum Hood (@Calum5SOS, 6,811,728)
6. Hugh Jackman (@RealHughJackman, 6,757,650)
7. Ashton Irwin (@Ashton5SOS, 5,804,439)
8. Miranda Kerr (@MirandaKerr, 4,816,302)
9. Kyrie Irving (@KyrieIrving, 3,028,794)
10. Shane Warne (@ShaneWarne, 2,788,986)

(Source: TwitterCounter)

The following two tabs change content below.

Michael Brown

Michael feels privileged to be part of the #SMPerth community as its first intern.

Latest posts by Michael Brown (see all)

LEAVE A COMMENT

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *