Search

Top 10 Global & Australian Twitter Users // January 2017

Michael Brown // 23rd February 2017
Shares

The end of January saw Obama leave the White House and his position as President behind, but at least when it came to Twitter he certainly got the last laugh.

Around the time of Trump’s inauguration Obama’s support on Twitter surged, pushing him past Pop Princess Taylor Swift to claim spot number 3. Bieber may have felt safe in the 90 million + club, but that feeling is surely evaporating fast as the former leader of the free world is increasingly visible in the distance.

In other news January also saw Ellen grab spot number 7 from Lady Gaga, but with only about 31,000 followers between them our favourite daytime TV host might have to pull a rabbit (or two) out of her hat if she is going to keep that position for more than a month!

If this is just a taste of things to come for 2017 we can’t wait to see what February brings!

Take a look at the stats of our Top 10 Global Twitter users for January 2017:

1. Katy Perry (@katyperry, 95,584,348)
2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber, 91,517,718)
3. Barack Obama (@barackobama, 83,907,265)
4. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13, 83,267,257)
5. Rihanna (@rihanna, 69,448,374)
6. YouTube (@YouTube, 66,349,981)
7. Ellen DeGeneres (@TheEllenShow, 65,096,004)
8. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga, 65,065,084)
9. Twitter (@twitter, 59,233,046)
10. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake, 57,843,111)

(Source: TwitterCounter)

Our Aussie Top 10 had a bit more of an easy going start to 2017 compared to their Global counterparts, with 5SOS to Warnie all keeping their spots this January. Cody Simpson continues to be in trouble, though, with his account shedding another 3800 followers. If his account continues to go in the wrong direction 5SOS’s Michael may not have to do that much to claim spot number 3 from the young pop star.

If January brought all the excitement for our Global Top 10, will February be the Aussies turn? We can’t wait to find out!

Take a look at the stats of our Top 10 Australian Twitter users for January 2017:

1. 5 Seconds of Summer (@5SOS, 10,533,715)
2. Luke Hemmings (@Luke5SOS, 8,210,467)
3. Cody Simpson (@CodySimpson, 7,789,654)
4. Michael Clifford (@Michael5SOS, 7,673,799)
5. Hugh Jackman (@RealHughJackman, 7,403,684)
6. Calum Hood (@Calum5SOS, 7,196,461)
7. Ashton Irwin (@Ashton5SOS, 6,235,853)
8. Miranda Kerr (@MirandaKerr, 5,147,115)
9. Kyrie Irving (@KyrieIrving, 3,215,877)
10. Shane Warne (@ShaneWarne, 2,887,827)

(Source: TwitterCounter)

The following two tabs change content below.

Michael Brown

Michael feels privileged to be part of the #SMPerth community as its first intern.

Latest posts by Michael Brown (see all)

LEAVE A COMMENT

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *