Search

Top 10 Global and Australian Twitter Users // September 2017

Katrina Rischbieth // 02nd October 2017
Shares

Lady Gaga is moving up and double figures for Jackman.

Plus a reminder from LL Cool J that follower growth does not equate to popularity. 

Lady Gaga had one of the fastest growing profiles this month, averaging 59k new followers a day to move her up a spot to 7th position.

Rihanna who launched her new beauty range, Fenty, in early September gained 2.62 million new followers edging her closer to Taylor and 4th position. It may have earned her the title of the fastest growing profile of the top 10 global Twitter users but it didn’t change her ranking.

Overall, the fastest growing Twitter profile in September was Trump. Ranked outside of the top 10 at 22nd he had over 2.47 million new followers. Ronaldo had the next fastest growth of 2.35 million new followers but he still hasn’t cracked the top 10, sitting just outside at 11th position.

He may have a large following on Twitter, but it’s clear from this interview with hip-hop artist LL Cool J on Ellen that not everyone feels such affinity to the President of the US. A subtle reminder that it’s not all about the number of likes we get on social media.

The Top 10 Global Twitter users for September 2017:

1. Katy Perry (@katyperry ) 104, 658, 395
2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber ) 101, 992, 460
3. Barack Obama (@barackobama ) 95, 424, 834
4. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13 ) 85, 617, 293
5. Rihanna (@rihanna ) 79, 208, 543
6. Ellen DeGeneres (@TheEllenShow) 73, 991, 629
7. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga) 71, 448, 188
8. YouTube (@YouTube) 70, 021, 436
9. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake) 62, 145, 885
10. Twitter (@twitter) 62, 018, 815

(Source: TwitterCounter, SocialBakers, Twitter)

Now for the Aussie Twitter profiles.

Following a plateau over the past few months, 5 Seconds of Summer had a spike in followers. With over 500k new followers, the boy band that melts every teenage girl’s heart was the fastest growing Aussie profile in September. No doubt their tour of South America has raised their profiles and increased their numbers of adoring social media fans.

Band member, Luke Hemmings also had a strong follower growth this month with an increase of 443k new followers, averaging 11k per day.

Hugh Jackman was a little quieter this month only 450k new followers, averaging 16k new followers per day as compared to the 19k daily average he had in August. But, he did hit 10 million followers. Making him the first individual Aussie profile to hit double figures! Not a peep from him about it either.

It’s always nice when celebrities show a bit of humility. On that note, here’s a little chuckle for those of you that remember the 90’s.

Peter Andre and steamed pudding tweet

The Top 10 Australian Twitter users for September 2017:

1. 5 Seconds of Summer (@5SOS ) 11, 582, 290
2. Hugh Jackman (@RealHughJackman) 10, 387, 139
3. Luke Hemmings (@Luke5SOS) 9, 645, 976
4. Michael Clifford (@Michael5SOS)  8, 841, 818
5. Cody Simpson (@CodySimpson) 8, 020, 500
6. Calum Hood (@Calum5SOS) 7, 298, 791
7. Ashton Irwin (@Ashton5SOS) 6, 384, 450
8. Miranda Kerr (@MirandaKerr) 5, 499, 949
9. Kyrie Irving (@KyrieIrving) 3, 723, 568
10. Peter Andre (@MrPeterAndre) 3, 535, 129

(Source: TwitterCounter, SocialBakers, Twitter)
The following two tabs change content below.

LEAVE A COMMENT

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *