Search

Top 10 Global & Australian Twitter Users // February 2017

Katrina Rischbieth // 05th March 2017

And the winner is…

The #Oscars certainly ended off February with a bang…what a fiasco that was!!! The talk is still continuing over on Twitter too.

But back to the top profiles for February! Katy Perry is still our number one Twitter profile, and no big changes with the rest of the 10 in the same order as last month. There is still a huge amount of support for Obama so he may move up in coming months, though since departing the White House his tweets are few and far between.

Speaking of Presidents, the fastest growing profile on Twitter was Donald Trump’s personal profile (@realDonaldTrump) with 2.85 million new followers in February, followed by Barack Obama and then President Trump (@POTUS). But with a mere 25.8 million followers and 15.8million on POTUS, Trump’s still got a long way to go before he hits the top 10…we hope!

 

 

Here are the Top 10 Global Twitter users for February 2017:

1. Katy Perry (@katyperry 96, 044, 645)
2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber, 91,954,310)
3. Barack Obama (@barackobama, 85,183,340)
4. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13, 83,551,623)
5. Rihanna (@rihanna, 69,884,401)
6. YouTube (@YouTube, 66,848,548)
7. Ellen DeGeneres (@TheEllenShow, 65,809,805)
8. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga, 65,421,186)
9. Twitter (@twitter 60,176,486)
10. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake, 58,133,881)

(Source: TwitterCounter, SocialBakers, Twitter)

 

The Aussie tweeters all have a strong hold on their positions, there’s been no movement in the Top 10 this month. All of them, including Cody Simpson – who you may recall lost a substantial amount of followers in January – have gained followers.

Even though 5SOS continue to gain millions of followers each month it was our man Hugh Jackman that took first prize for the fastest growing account. This month he gained a whopping 205k followers!! But let’s be honest, he knows how to draw a crowd.

In the lead-up to the Wolverine movie, Jackman has been posting short videos of himself from various places around the world. Most of them look like they’re taken with a crappy phone, but they’re exactly what the people want. Hugh in real situations, hanging with the locals and mostly funny. People love reality!


Here they are, the Top 10 Australian Twitter users for February 2017:

1. 5 Seconds of Summer (@5SOS, 10,662,078)
2. Luke Hemmings (@Luke5SOS, 8,284,050)
3. Cody Simpson (@CodySimpson, 7,790,770)
4. Michael Clifford (@Michael5SOS, 7,735,570)
5. Hugh Jackman (@RealHughJackman, 7,608,616)
6. Calum Hood (@Calum5SOS, 7,211,378)
7. Ashton Irwin (@Ashton5SOS, 6,278,664)
8. Miranda Kerr (@MirandaKerr, 5,183,272)
9. Kyrie Irving (@KyrieIrving, 3,215,877)
10. Shane Warne (@ShaneWarne, 2,887,827)

(Source: TwitterCounter, SocialBakers, Twitter)

 

 

The following two tabs change content below.

LEAVE A COMMENT

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *