Search

Top 10 Global & Australian Twitter Users // July 2017

Katrina Rischbieth // 01st August 2017

A picture is worth a thousand words.

Twitter feeds across the world were filled with pictures rather than text to celebrate World Emoji Day.

In a celebration visual communication, Twitter feeds were filled with colourful emojis rather than words on July 17. The big brands jumped on board with tweets asking fans what their favourite emoji is, what emoji would you like to see added. Even the celebs joined in the fun…

Ellen's emoji day tweet

Second placed Justin Bieber outdid number one Katy Perry in the number of followers gained during July. Bieber had an increase of 1.32 million followers compared to Perry’s 1.18million, though he still has a bit of work to do before he catches up with her lead.

Rihanna had the greatest follower increase of the top 10 users, with 1.35 million new followers gained during July, though it wasn’t enough to take 4th spot from Taylor. Maybe next month.

In fact, all the positions remained the same as June, though we predict there could be some movements in the next couple of months.

Speaking of movements, just out of the top 10 in 11th position is Cristiano Ronaldo who we often mention in the monthly Top 10 Instagram users. The Portuguese footballer had an increase of 1.81 million new followers in July and is bound to be showing his face in the top 10 in coming months.

Still down at 28th position, Trump hasn’t reached the top 10 yet but he did have the fastest growing Twitter profile this month, with a daily average of 65k new followers, that’s around 1.87 million for the month!

The Top 10 Global Twitter users for July 2017:

1. Katy Perry (@katyperry )  101, 636, 468
2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber )  98, 795, 126
3. Barack Obama (@barackobama ) 92, 523, 679
4. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13 ) 85, 411, 574
5. Rihanna (@rihanna ) 75, 834, 321
6. Ellen DeGeneres (@TheEllenShow)  71, 117, 143
7. YouTube (@YouTube)  69, 309, 238
8. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga)  67, 844, 917
9. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake) 61, 673, 205
10. Twitter (@twitter)  61, 438, 916

(Source: TwitterCounter, SocialBakers, Twitter)

Now, how about the Aussie Twitter profiles…

This month Kyrie Irving takes on 9th spot with an impressive 100k increase in followers. He and Peter Andre have been taking it in turns for a while now but his increase of 100k followers for the month has left Andre with a bit of catching up to do.

The rest of the top 10 positions remain the same as last month.

July has seen Hugh Jackman cement his position in 2nd place. The Wolverine actor had almost half a million new followers (200k more than June) crowning him July’s fastest growing profile in Australia.

Why do we love him so much? He’s real, he’s humorous, he doesn’t take himself too seriously, and he’s not afraid of tweeting a good #selfie either!

Hugh Jackman selfie on Twitter

 

The Top 10 Australian Twitter users for July 2017:

1. 5 Seconds of Summer (@5SOS ) 10, 880, 576
2. Hugh Jackman (@RealHughJackman)  9, 315, 337
3. Luke Hemmings (@Luke5SOS)  8, 980, 647
4. Michael Clifford (@Michael5SOS)  8, 171, 940
5. Cody Simpson (@CodySimpson) 7, 908, 871
6. Calum Hood (@Calum5SOS) 7, 265, 858
7. Ashton Irwin (@Ashton5SOS) 6, 418, 410
8. Miranda Kerr (@MirandaKerr) 5, 432, 577
9. Kyrie Irving (@KyrieIrving) 3, 578,675
10. Peter Andre (@MrPeterAndre)  3, 525, 817

(Source: TwitterCounter, SocialBakers, Twitter)

 

 

The following two tabs change content below.

LEAVE A COMMENT

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *