Think you’re blocked on Twitter? There are a few ways you can check if you’ve been blocked or not.
Like most social media platforms nowadays, what you want to see and what you don’t want to see is (mostly) up to you, including others users.
On Twitter, one of the options to gain more control over your feed is to block someone. From differences in opinions to safety, there are many reasons why users may choose to block someone on Twitter.
Let’s take a look at a few of the simple ways that you can check whether or not you’ve been blocked on Twitter.
What happens when you’re blocked on Twitter
The first thing to keep in mind when it comes to blocking people on Twitter is there’s no notification sent out by Twitter when a user blocks someone. To find out whether or not you’ve been blocked on Twitter, you’ll need to do some digging yourself.
When you block someone on Twitter, you will see something similar to the below. Conversely, when someone blocks you, you will see a message stating, “[user] blocked you. You are blocked from following [user]’s Tweets.
Here’s a quick rundown of what will happen if a user blocks you on Twitter:
- You won’t be able to see their tweets or view their profile
- You will no longer receive any notifications about them
- In Twitter threads, you won’t be able to see any of their tweets or replies
Interestingly, if someone on Twitter blocks you, you can still send them a direct message; however, the user will not receive it. Essentially, all you’re doing is screaming into the digital void.
How to check if you’ve been blocked on Twitter
If you want to know if an individual user has blocked you on Twitter, you must visit their account. If you can see everything, as usual, you’re not blocked. However, if you see the following, it means you’ve been blocked.
Find how many people have blocked you
If, for some reason, you’re curious about just how many people in total have blocked you and you don’t want to spend all day manually searching through Twitter, there are third-party resources that can give you this information.
blolook let’s you check the total number of accounts that have blocked you.
If I get blocked, what happens to my messages?
As you can probably imagine, if a user blocks you on Twitter, this likely means they want zero interaction with you on the platform. Regardless of who blocks who, you can no longer access any messages you’ve exchanged.