Search

Top 10 Global & Australian Twitter Users // June 2017

Katrina Rischbieth // 04th July 2017

Katy reaches 100m!

It’s official, Katy Perry is the first to reach over 100m followers on Twitter.  

Still, out in front, she’s steaks ahead of her Twitter peers with around 3million more followers than 2nd placed Justin Bieber. Ms Perry just keeps on keeping on.

She has become a bit of a commodity too, her fashion label, popup stores, new album, tour merchandise. But the greatest thing is she interacts with her fans, what a way to make ordinary people feel special, right?

Katy Perry tweet

 

Katy may have reached a milestone but it was Obama who had the fastest growing profile out of the Top 10. For someone who tweets very rarely, he still manages attract new followers, gaining  2.2million new followers in June compared to Perry’s increase of 1.2million.

Justin Timberlake has moved up into 9th position passing Twitter’s account. Despite June being a tweet-less month for Talyor, she’s managed to hang on to 4th position and gained followers rather than lost. All others have remained the same.

The Top 10 Global Twitter users for June 2017:

1. Katy Perry (@katyperry )  100, 451, 783
2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber )  97, 469, 585
3. Barack Obama (@barackobama ) 91, 486, 507
4. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13 ) 85, 311, 868
5. Rihanna (@rihanna ) 74, 476, 808
6. Ellen DeGeneres (@TheEllenShow)  70, 258, 825
7. YouTube (@YouTube)  68, 926, 664
8. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga)  67, 138, 852
9. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake) 61, 516, 838
10. Twitter (@twitter)  61, 128, 928

(Source: TwitterCounter, SocialBakers, Twitter)

Now over to the Aussie Twitter profiles…

Finally, there’s been some movement in the ranks! Hugh Jackman and 5SOS guitarist Michael have both jumped up one spot.

June has been a massive month for Mr Jackman, he gained over 3ook new followers and landed himself in 2nd position! He’s still a little way off taking the top spot from 5SOS, though the band’s Twitter profile has dropped in popularity and hasn’t gained nearly as many new followers in the past few months.

Cody Simpson was one of the profiles to drop down a spot but it’s nice to see he is using social media to spread messages about environmental causes, not just his music.  Thumbs up Cody!

Cody Simpson tweet about World Ocean Day

The Top 10 Australian Twitter users for June 2017:

1. 5 Seconds of Summer (@5SOS ) 10, 785, 029     
2. Hugh Jackman (@RealHughJackman)  8, 813, 533
3. Luke Hemmings (@Luke5SOS)  8, 730, 432
4. Michael Clifford (@Michael5SOS)  7, 899, 026
5. Cody Simpson (@CodySimpson) 7, 852, 748        
6. Calum Hood (@Calum5SOS) 7, 248, 146       
7. Ashton Irwin (@Ashton5SOS) 6, 429, 077
8. Miranda Kerr (@MirandaKerr) 5, 389, 092           
9. Peter Andre (@MrPeterAndre)  3, 524, 426
10. Kyrie Irving (@KyrieIrving) 3, 477, 050

(Source: TwitterCounter, SocialBakers, Twitter)
The following two tabs change content below.

Latest posts by Katrina Rischbieth (see all)

LEAVE A COMMENT

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *